Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_1322.PNG

I don’t know about you but I still don’t deal very well with long work days and healthy eating. When I work late my diet and exercise routine goes downhill. It usually takes me eating out or ordering take aways and I rarely have the energy and time to work out. Ever since I found this salad it’s been my staple dinner every weekend. You can add extra greens or dress the way you like it.

Super Green Kale Salad

4-6 cups kale
1 bunch fresh broccoli
1 bunch asparagus
1/2 an avocado
Juice of 1 lemon
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
salt and pepper, to taste
2/3 cup grated Parmesan
2/3 cup sliced almonds, toasted

Whisk together lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. Pour 2/3 of the dressing over kale in serving bowl and toss well. Add 2/3 of the cheese and toss again. Let kale sit for at least 5 minutes.

While the kale rests, cut the brocolinni and asparagus into 1 inch pieces. Cook the brocolinni and asparagus over medium heat for just a minute, just enough to take off the raw edge.

Mix in the vegetables with the kale, almonds, the remaining parmesan, and avocado, toss with the remaining dressing.

Food as Medicine:
Kale is among the most nutrient-dense commonly eaten vegetables. One cup provides 1,327 percent of the Daily Value (DV) for vitamin K, 192 percent of DV for vitamin A, and 88 percent for vitamin C.

I hope you enjoy it :).

